breast cancer · HKelly designs

Designing a Most Unique Handbag with Florabunda!

I’m so excited to unveil my final design for Florabunda! by Melanie Testa from RJR Fabrics!

Over the past few weeks, I have been working on and teasing you with images of the one-of-a-kind bag I created for Florabunda!, my friend Melanie’s latest fabric line from RJR Fabrics. This is a dream project for me. No limits, so much color and so many prints!

Today is the day I reveal the finished project.

Florabunda HKelly designs.JPG

And as you can see I didn’t just create a tote style handbag, but a wristlet that can stand alone or be attached to the inside of the bag! There’s a small metal clip on the wristlet and a small loop inside the bag! So you keep your wallet and keys in the small bag and when you just need to run in somewhere, just grab the wristlet!

So a lot went into the making of these bags.

Florabunda HKelly designs Side View

First, the Tote. The Tote has 8 different prints used in the making. From the covered buttons to the ruffles to the side panels to the pocket on one side and even a different fabric for the interior zipper pocket! I didn’t have a design in mind until I had the fabrics in hand. I let it speak to me and it told me I needed to have ruffles and that’s where the design started! As with all my tote bags, the bottom is protected with metal feet and is the same color as the sides! The closure is a small flap with a magnet and even the flap has two different fabrics, the interior matches the lining and the exterior contrasts the rest of the exterior.

Florubunda HKelly designs wristlet cropped

And now the wristlet! I couldn’t just make a bag, you know me. There should always be a matching makeup bag or something. My thought was I wanted it to be a part of the bag and yet be able to be worn on it’s own. So I decided to add a small metal clip that attaches to a loop, a different print from the lining :)! I continued the ruffle detail on the front of the wristlet and purposely made the strap the same color so it looks like it’s coming off the ruffle. The zipper pull and, as my friend coined the term, zipper cozies are the same color as the lining of the bag. A perfect makeup bag size or enough room for wallet, keys, lip gloss and a bit more!

Use them together or on their own, either way it’s a very unique look!

A side note, I wasn’t just thrilled to be working with a friend who designs fabric. When I saw the fabrics and her color story my heart leaped! My favorite colors to work with are blues and pinks and Florabunda! had these in spades!! Thank you to my good friend and fellow breastie, Melanie Testa, for this amazing opportunity to showcase some of my design experience that I don’t always get to do! Custom bags are my absolute favorite thing to do because they are so personal and this one I got to do for me, which made it that much more personal!!

And thanks to RJR Fabrics for making Melanie’s Florabunda! come to life and allow all of us to show of what we can do with her prints! Don’t miss the other artists taking part. Scroll down for their websites and more. Oh and don’t forget that RJR Fabrics is doing giveaways on Instagram!!!

Here are a few more looks at the project and finished product.

 

 

 

Interested in your own custom bag? Just email me at heidi@hkellydesigns.com and we can talk details!

Follow my blog with Bloglovin

signature_compact

June 7:   Tiffany Hayes- needleinahayesstack.blogspot.com
@needleinahaystackdesigns
June 8:   Deborah Boschert- deborahsjournal.blogspot.com
@deborahboschert
June 9:   Sara Mika mockpiestudio.blogspot.com
@mockpiestudio
June 10: Lyric Kinard http://lyrickinard.com/lyric-kinard-blog
@lyrickinard
June 11: Kathy York aquamoonartquilts.blogspot.com
@kakiyork
June 11: Teri Lucas https://terificreations.com
Facebook: @terificreations Instagram: @terilucas
June 12: Leslie Tucker Jenison http://leslietuckerjenison.com
Facebook: @lesliejenison Intagram: @leslietuckerjenison
June 12: Heidi Kelly hkellydesigns.com
@hkellydesigns
June 13: Jamie Fingal http://jamiefingaldesigns.blogspot.com
@jamiefingal
June 14: Debby Brown https://www.debbybrownquilts.com
@debbybrownquilts
June 14: Susan Brubaker Knapp http://www.bluemoonriver.blogspot.com
Facebook: @susanbrubakerknappfiberartist Instagram: @susanbrubakerknapp
June 14: David Gilleland of Vector Quilts https://www.facebook.com/vectorquilts
@vectorquilts
June 15: RJR Fabrics is hosting its own social media event, so we will NOT be hopping on this day. @RJRFabrics
June 16: Melanie Testa http://www.melanietesta.com
@MelanieTestaArtist

4 thoughts on “Designing a Most Unique Handbag with Florabunda!

Leave a comment